top of page
  • Writer's pictureMonique Williams

What Do You Do When Life Gives You Lemons?

Initially, when I first lost the ability to speak, due to Bilateral Vocal Cord Paralysis; I had a very hard time coping. It was devastating! I was then diagnosed with Adjustment Disorder: It is a group of symptoms, such as stress, feeling sad or hopeless, and physical symptoms that can occur after you go through a stressful life event. The symptoms occur because one has a hard time coping. The reaction is stronger than expected for the type of event that occurred; Fear, Anxiety, Sadness, Panic Attacks, Depression. And with much reasoning from the psychiatrist I was immediately prescribed medication but I felt more than just medication and didn't take them.

I felt my mind, body, and spirit needed more... I further pursued resources to help and I was referred to CHC-Florida and the first Clinical Mental Health Counselor from the agency that was assigned to my case instantly connected with me. She held my hands... She listened... She understood the wave of emotions.

I had two choices; 1: to Exist or 2: Live

I chose to Live!

And when my life twisted for the worst when I went into respiratory distress she gave me the tools on how to adjust, cope and strategies such as breathing, grounding, and relaxation techniques. Our sessions were what my mind, body, and spirit needed... The prescription: She taught me how to LIVE! She nudged me back to Life! She said, " Remember, living will look differently for you, and that's ok!" She challenged me! She helped build my confidence, self-esteem and shifted my mind to a new place of sight. She navigated me back into the work field, family support resources, different adaptive technology, and parenting support.

She believed in me and gave me the opportunity to learn American Sign Language at summer camp (ASL) So what do you do when life gives you lemons? Turning lemons into lemonade is a recipe worth trying. It took some sour moments before it became doable.

A journey is not a destination. In my journey to continue learning American Sign Language (ASL)🤟🏽 It is a silence full of sound and a dance of words where my hands now tell the story.

Thank you CHC-Florida:Center for Hearing and Communication for your continued support on my journey.

Center For Hearing & Communication

2900 W Cypress Creek Rd

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

United States

(954) 601-1930









1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page